The company in its FAQ said:
”After a few weeks of limited functionality, you won’t be able to receive the incoming calls or notifications and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.”
The policy doesn’t change the fact that all the personal messages between the users remain encrypted. It also means that only the recipient can read them. Rather, it relates to messages sent to businesses running via WhatsApp. Such messages may get stored on Facebook’s servers and the data may later be utilized for advertising purposes.
This wasn’t the first time when WhatsApp was going to share user data with Facebook. In 2016, WhatsApp announced that it will share a limited amount of user data with the parent company Facebook. The data includes individuals’ contact numbers. The company believes that by sharing the data Facebook can offer better friend suggestions and deliver more appropriate ads on the social media platforms.